Travel to Tuscany and Umbria

Published on Snooth – December 1, 2009 – By Gregory Dal Piaz


I recently set off on a tour of adjacent regions in Italy, one as famous as any, the other living in its neighbor’s shadow. Tuscany captures the imagination of many, and with good reason. The riches of Siena, Florence, the hill towns and famous vineyards spanning Montalcino, Montepulciano, and Chianti have had a tremendous impact on history.

Moving just a few kilometers to the east one finds oneself in the province of Umbria. Long passed over as a tourist destination, and with a much smaller wine industry, Umbria is only now appearing on the radar of the average tourist. With far lighter crowds and an appealingly intense character to the people, cuisine and wines, now is the time to begin to include Umbria in your travels plans.

I was only in Italy for just over a week but I documented my every move, so that I can share with you some tips on great places to visit. I’ll not only be featuring wineries, but also hotels, restaurants, and sights to see. So let’s kick off this nine part series and see where it takes us!

Please click here to read the complete report and see all the photos.

About Andrea Favale

I am the self-proclaimed acquisitor I am a link yet I function as a complete unit I aim at encompassing heights And strike my target Sure and steady. Life is one joyous journey for me. Each search must end with a new quest. I am progress, exploration and insight. I am the womb of activity. I am the Rat.
This entry was posted in Food and drinks, Italy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment